Displacement Activity

Today is a writing day. It has been planned and I have nothing else to do, no jobs, no e mails, no events. I am a quarter of the way through re-writing and editing my first novel (Thanks Debi and Emma at Writers’ Workshop for the brilliant Self-editing course- at least I know how to do it now!
Got up early, had porridge for slow release carbs, stroked the cat, and did four hours straight. So why am I having a whinge? Well, looks like that was it. Concentration’s gone.
Since lunch I have put through two loads of washing, pulled a load of ivy off the back fence, weeded the front garden, picked red and yellow tomatoes (it’s so exciting when things actually grow) and now here I am at 3.30, blogging to you good people.
What is it that makes it so hard for us to look critically at our own work? I vacillate between disgust at the clichés and over-use of adverbs, (lazy, sloppy writing, tut) and pride at the bits which even I can see do work (captured that character in four lines). I do want to write the best book I can.
The one thing that I definitely see clearly is how much better the second and third drafts are compared to the raw stuff that spewed out in the first flush of creativity. It is hard slogging away at the editing but rewarding when you can recognise that out of such hard work may come something worth reading, and something that other people might like to read.
I have a date in my head (1st October) when I want to have this MS ready to send out to publishers or agents, and believe me, I shall be back on the Cloud asking for guidance when that time comes.
Feel better now. Might manage a couple more hours before dinner….

